We read submissions for the Coniston Prize between July 1 and September 1 annually. 

About The Coniston Prize

The Coniston Prize is an annual award that recognizes an exceptional group of poems by a woman writing in English. The winner receives $1,000 and is featured in Radar's dedicated contest issue, which is released in October of each year. Finalists are also awarded publication.

Read the work of previous winners below:

2017: Emily Viggiano Saland, selected by Dorothea Lasky

2016: Sarah Ann Winn, selected by Gabrielle Calvocoressi 

2015: Alexandra Lytton Regalado, selected by Lynn Emanuel

2014: Flower Conroy, selected by Mary Biddinger

2018 Judge: Martha Rhodes

Martha Rhodes is the author of five poetry collections, most recently The Thin Wall (University of Pittsburgh Press, 2017). She teaches at Sarah Lawrence College and the MFA Program for Writers at Warren Wilson College. She is the director of Four Way Books and lives in NYC.

Martha Rhodes Headshot.jpg


Submissions are open July 1 through September 1 annually. We notify all entrants on or before October 1. The entry fee is $15. 

Submit 3-6 previously unpublished poems in a single document through our submissions manager. You may include a cover letter and brief bio in the comments box. Multiple submissions are acceptable with additional reading fee.

Please remove all identifying information from the poems themselves. All contest submissions will be read anonymously.

This award recognizes an exceptional group of poems. We therefore suggest that you submit poems that are intentionally cohesive in some way, whether connected by subject matter, theme, voice, style, or imagery.

Simultaneous submissions are acceptable, but we cannot refund contest fees if you have to withdraw all or part of your submission. Multiple entries are acceptable with an additional fee.  


The Coniston Prize is awarded only to women poets.

If you know the editors or our judge personally, you should not submit your work. This includes current or former students of the editors or the judge. If such a relationship is identified, your entry will be disqualified. 


Each year, the editors first read all Coniston Prize submissions without viewing any personal information (name, cover letter, or bio). From these submissions, the editors select up to 10 finalists. The finalists' manuscripts, free of any identifying information, are sent to that year's contest judge, who then selects a winner.

Please click below to submit. We look forward to reading your poems! 


Click here to proceed to Submittable  

(Contest open July 1 - September 1) 


We adhere to the CLMP Contest Code of Ethics.

CLMP’s community of independent literary publishers believe that ethical contests serve our shared goal: to connect writers and readers by publishing exceptional writing. We believe that intent to act ethically, clarity of guidelines, and transparency of process form the foundation of an ethical contest. To that end, we agree to 1) conduct our contests as ethically as possible and to address any unethical behavior on the part of our readers, judges, or editors; 2) to provide clear and specific contest guidelines — defining conflict of interest for all parties involved; and 3) to make the mechanics of our selection process available to the public. This Code recognizes that different contest models produce different results, but that each model can be run ethically. We have adopted this Code to reinforce our integrity and dedication as a publishing community and to ensure that our contests contribute to a vibrant literary heritage.

Subscribe to our mailing list